BEA'S BOOK NOOK "I can't imagine a man really enjoying a book and reading it only once." C. S. Lewis “If one cannot enjoy reading a book over and over again, there is no use in reading it at all.” ― Oscar Wilde

Wednesday, August 24, 2016

Twitter Reviews of 3 Mysteries: Repressed by Elisabeth Naughton; Goodbye, Ms. Chips by Dorothy Cannell; and Cinco de Mayhem by Ann Myers

Twitter, Review, Repressed, Elisabeth Naughton, Bea's Book Nook
Series: Deadly Secrets #1
Publisher: Montlake Romance
Source: the publisher in exchange for an honest review
Release Date:  July 26th 2016
Challenges: NetGalley & Edelweiss Reading Challenge
Buying Links: Amazon* | Book Depository* | iTunes* | Barnes & Noble
* affiliate links; the blog receives a small commission from purchases made through these links.

Blurb from goodreads:

Hidden Falls is exactly as Samantha Parker left it—small, insular, and prone to gossip. Eighteen years have passed since she witnessed her brother’s murder, but she’s still the talk of the town. Until a handsome child psychologist with haunting memories of his own arrives.

Dr. Ethan McClane isn’t exactly a newcomer. If it weren’t for his latest case, he’d never set foot back in Hidden Falls. Thankfully, no one seems to recognize him as the troubled teen from years past. Not even Sam, the delightfully sharp and sexy high school chemistry teacher he can’t stop thinking about.

When Sam and Ethan work together to help one of her students, sparks ignite. But Sam’s hazy memories of a long-ago night concern Ethan, and unlocking the repressed images reveals a dark connection between them. As the horrors of the past finally come to light, their relationship isn’t the only thing in danger. A killer will strike again to keep an ugly secret hidden. This time no one will be safe.

My Thoughts:

"Repressed" is dark, full of unlikely coincidences, moody atmosphere, surprise & predictability, has an uneven pace & complicated characters



Twitter, Review, Goodbye Ms. Chips, Dorothy Cannell, Bea's Book Nook
Series: Ellie Haskell #12
Publisher: Alibi
Source: the publisher in exchange for an honest review
Release Date: June 7th, 2016
Challenges: NetGalley & Edelweiss Reading Challenge
Buying Links: Amazon* | AbeBooks | OmniLit* | iTunes* | Barnes & Noble
* affiliate links; the blog receives a small commission from purchases made through these links.

Blurb from goodreads:

Ellie Haskell goes back to school in the “thoroughly entertaining series” (Cosmopolitan) that began with The Thin Woman. From Agatha Award nominee Dorothy Cannell, this delightful mystery is an education . . . in murder.

“Ellie, the headmistress wants to see you.” Words to strike terror in the heart of any inmate of St. Roberta’s boarding school. Fortunately for Ellie Haskell, she is no longer a pudgy, wayward pupil but a happily married mother and interior designer with a beautiful home by the sea. Rather, Ellie has been summoned thanks to her reputation as an amateur sleuth.

The headmistress, Mrs. Battle, has requested Ellie’s help in the investigation into the disappearance of a coveted lacrosse trophy. Unless the prize is found, someone will succeed in dealing the school a great deal of embarrassment. So, despite her less-than-rosy memories of her alma mater, Ellie begins snooping around St. Roberta’s—only to have her homecoming spoiled by the suspicious death of the recently retired games mistress, Ms. Chips. Now, with a killer possibly stalking the halls, Ellie must act fast to have a sporting chance at justice.
 

My Thoughts:

"Goodbye, Ms. Chips" was a quirky but slow foray into school reminisces and modern mysteries, with intriguing characters.

Twitter, Review, Cinco de Mayhem, Ann Myers, Bea's Book Nook
Series: Santa Fe Cafe Mystery #2
Publisher: William Morrow
Source: the publisher in exchange for an honest review
Release Date: March 29th, 2016
Challenges: NetGalley & Edelweiss Reading Challenge
Buying Links: Amazon* | Book Depository* | OmniLit* | iTunes* | Barnes & Noble
* affiliate links; the blog receives a small commission from purchases made through these links.

Blurb from goodreads:

In the vein of Diane Mott Davidson and Joanne Fluke comes the second book in a new culinary mystery series featuring Sante Fe chef Rita Lafitte.

"Ann Myers has created a delectable new mystery series set in the fascinating world of Santa Fe, New Mexico. With a smart, sympathetic heroine, a mélange of quirky characters, a delicious array of tantalizing food and intriguing bits of Old World folklore, this wonderful, well-plotted mystery will keep you guessing right up to the final page."--New York Times bestselling author Kate Carlisle

As Cinco de Mayo approaches, all of Santa Fe, New Mexico, is in a flurry of preparations as the margaritas chill and the decorations are hung. Life couldn’t be better for chef Rita LaFitte-Tres Amigas: the café she works at with friends Linda and Flori is flourishing, her daughter Cecelia seems happy, and she has a hot date with handsome lawyer Jake Strong.

That is, until local restaurateur Napoleon attempts to take over all of the food carts town and winds up dead under Linda’s famous tamale truck. To help clear her dear friend’s reputation, Rita teams up with her octogenarian boss, Flori, to hunt down the real killer.

My Thoughts:

"Cinco de Mayhem" was a light, quirky, often slow mystery that was overly complicated but mostly hit the mark and had good Santa Fe flavor.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thanks for taking the time to comment. I enjoy hearing from my readers. Let;s talk!