Bea's Book Nook

BEA'S BOOK NOOK "I can't imagine a man really enjoying a book and reading it only once." C. S. Lewis “If one cannot enjoy reading a book over and over again, there is no use in reading it at all.” ― Oscar Wilde

Sunday, May 8, 2022

Review: How to Hear the Universe by Patricia Valdez, Illustrated by Sara Palacios


Publisher:
Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers
Source: the publisher in exchange for an honest review
Release Date: March 8th, 2022
Buying Links: Amazon* | Apple Books* | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Google Books | Kobo
* affiliate links; the blog receives a small commission from purchases made through these links.

Blurb from goodreads:

Discover new realms of outer space in this picture book biography of scientist Gabriela Gonzalez, who immigrated to America and became a ground-breaking scientist. Written by a molecular biologist and illustrated by an award-winning artist, this stunning picture book explores science, space, and history.

In 1916, Albert Einstein had a theory. He thought that somewhere out in the universe, there were collisions in space. These collisions could cause little sound waves in the fabric of space-time that might carry many secrets of the distant universe. But it was only a theory. He could not prove it in his lifetime.

Many years later, an immigrant scientist named Gabriela Gonzalez asked the same questions. Armed with modern technology, she joined a team of physicists who set out to prove Einstein's theory. At first, there was nothing. But then... they heard a sound. Gabriela and her team examined, and measured, and re-measured until they were sure.

Completing the work that Albert Einstein had begun 100 years earlier, Gonzalez broke ground for new space-time research. In a fascinating picture book that covers 100 years, 2 pioneering scientists, and 1 trailblazing discovery, Patricia Valdez sheds light on a little known but extraordinary story.

Saturday, May 7, 2022

Review: Llama Llama Back to School by Anna Dewdney and Reed Duncan, Illustrated by J.T. Morrow


Series:
Llama Llama
Read As A Stand Alone: Yes
Publisher: Viking Books for Young Readers
Source: the publisher in exchange for an honest review
Release Date: May 31st, 2022
Buying Links: Amazon* | Apple Books* | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Google Books | Kobo |
* affiliate links; the blog receives a small commission from purchases made through these links.

Blurb from goodreads:

A Netflix Original series

With over 30 million copies in print, Anna Dewdney's New York Times bestselling Llama Llama books have provided hours of comfort and fun-to-read-aloud rhyme.

Summer days are getting shorter and it's almost time for the first day of school for Llama! But Llama Llama isn't ready for summertime to end. It's been full of backyard camping, family picnics, and ice cream with friends. All he wants is for summer to go on forever! He's anxious about his first day back at school but maybe, with some help from his friends and Mama Llama, going back to school will be fun after all!

Friday, May 6, 2022

Review: Princess Charming by Zibby Owens, Illustrated by Holly Hatam


Publisher:
Flamingo Books
Source: the publisher in exchange for an honest review
Release Date: April 19th, 2022
Buying Links: Amazon* | Apple Books* | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Google Books | Kobo
* affiliate links; the blog receives a small commission from purchases made through these links.

Blurb from goodreads:

From debut author Zibby Owens comes Princess Charming, a lovable and empowering new character!

Princess Charming can't quite seem to find her "thing." She's tried everything from cooking to hip-hop, and hasn't been able to perfect either. Even her cartwheels are subpar. But when the castle hosts a superstar for a special event, Princess Charming finally finds her time to shine.

Princess Charming is about a brand-new princess character filled with fun, humor, and girl power. With a modern look and can-do attitude, Princess Charming is the perfect gift for all young readers who never give up!

Praise for Princess Charming

[A] timeless message.--Kirkus Reviews

Thursday, May 5, 2022

Review: Vampire Vacation by Laura Lavoie, Illustrated by Micah Player


Publisher:
Viking Books for Young Readers
Source: the publisher in exchange for an honest review
Release Date: May 10th, 2022
Buying Links: Amazon* | Apple Books* | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Google Books | Kobo
* affiliate links; the blog receives a small commission from purchases made through these links.

Blurb from goodreads:

Fang isn't like the other vampires. Will he be able to make his dreams of a beach vacation come true?

The last thing Fang wants is another vacation in Transylvania. He's toured Dracula's castle and the coffin museum enough for an eternal lifetime. Why can't he spend the summer swimming and surfing like his other friends? When his parents refuse, Fang decides to convince them that fun at the beach is possible, even for a family of vampires.

Laura Lavoie's clever text and Micah Player's devilishly fun illustrations are the perfect pairing for this hilarious picture book that captures the joy of having new adventures and staying true to yourself.

Wednesday, May 4, 2022

Check Out Harlequin Plus, A New Subscription From Harlequin Books


Does your mother like Harlequin Romances? Have we got a treat for you! Treat your mom for Mother’s Day with one easy and affordable subscription. Read, watch & play with curated book bundles PLUS unlimited access to an ebook library, feel-good movies and games. Start your 7-day free trial now: www.HarlequinPlus.comSubscribers have access to a romance-themed entertainment experience with new content added each month. A subscription to Harlequin PLUS provides users with four entertainment options, including bundles of new book releases (print & ebook options!), an ebook library, romantic movies, and casual games.

Harlequin Plus offers a variety of services to meet your entertainment needs while staying true to their brand. Harlequin PLUS is THE ultimate subscription service for romance fans! Don't forget to treat yourself too!

If you sign up, come back and let me know what you think!



Tuesday, May 3, 2022

Review: Most Perfect You by Jazmyn Simon, Illustrated by Tamisha Anthony


Publisher:
Random House Children's Books
Source: the publisher in exchange for an honest review
Release Date: May 31st, 2022
Buying Links: Amazon* | Apple Books* | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Google Books | Kobo
* affiliate links; the blog receives a small commission from purchases made through these links.

Blurb from goodreads:

Jazmyn Simon's debut is a moving love letter to children struggling to accept themselves inside and out--exactly as they are. This gorgeous picture book was inspired by a conversation between the author and her daughter.

I was shown all the smiles in the entire world. I looked at all of the many bright smiles until I found my favorite: your smile.

After comparing herself to other little girls, Irie confides in her mama that she feels something is wrong with her, that she's not perfect as she is. And so Irie's mama tells the magical story of how Irie was intentionally and wonderfully made. In fact, Irie is made up of all her mother's favorite things: sparkling eyes, a bright smile, and a kind heart.

Actor and activist Jazmyn Simon's tender picture book emphasizes the unique beauty and strength of all children, encouraging them to love their most perfect selves.

Monday, May 2, 2022

Review & Giveaway: The Hair Book by LaTonya Yvette, Illustrated by Amanda Jane Jones



Publisher:
Union Square Kids
Source: pr firm in exchange for an honest review
Release Date: May 3rd, 2022
Formats Available: Hardcover, Board book, Ebook
Buying Links: Amazon*  | BookShop.orgBarnes & Noble | Book Depository
* affiliate links; the blog receives a small commission from purchases made through these links.

Blurb from PR Firm:

With bold, colorful graphics and poetic rhyme, this is a stunning tribute to every kind of hair, perfect for fans of Hair Love.

Covered hair, Bun Hair, Party Hair… No matter your hair—YOU are welcome anywhere!

Author and lifestyle blogger, LaTonya Yvette makes her children’s book debut with a must-have gift purchase for any occasion alongside art from award-winning illustrator Amanda Jane Jones.

Review:
“Striking spreads include bold and eye-catching colors that celebrate the diversity of beauty.” — School Library Journal, Starred review

Friday, March 25, 2022

Could I Be As Brave as Bilbo? #TolkienReadingDay

 

I'm delighted to be participating in Tolkien Reading day. It's held on the 25th of March each year. The 25th of March is the date of the downfall of Sauron, the Lord of the Rings, and the fall of Barad-dûr. It's been organized by the Tolkien Society since 2003 to encourage fans to celebrate and promote the life and works of J.R.R. Tolkien by reading favorite passages.