Bea's Book Nook

BEA'S BOOK NOOK "I can't imagine a man really enjoying a book and reading it only once." C. S. Lewis “If one cannot enjoy reading a book over and over again, there is no use in reading it at all.” ― Oscar Wilde

Monday, September 13, 2021

Bea Reviews The Inheritance by JoAnn Ross


Publisher:
HQN Books
Source: the publisher in exchange for an honest review
Release Date: September 7th, 2021
Buying Links: Amazon* | Barnes & Noble | Google BooksiBooksKobo
* affiliate links; the blog receives a small commission from purchases made through these links.

Blurb from goodreads:

With a dramatic WWII love story woven throughout, JoAnn Ross's women’s fiction debut is a generational saga full of sisterly affection and rivalry, perfect for fans of Susan Wiggs, Mary Alice Monroe and Lisa Wingate.

When conflict photographer Jackson Swann dies, he leaves behind a conflict of his own making when his three daughters, each born to a different mother, discover that they’re now responsible for the family’s Oregon vineyard—and for a family they didn’t ask for.

After a successful career as a child TV star, Tess is, for the first time in her life, suffering from a serious identity crisis, and renewed resentment around losing her father all over again.

Charlotte, brought up to be a proper Southern wife, gave up her own career to support her husband's political ambitions. On the worst day of her life, she discovers her beloved father has died, she has two sisters she never knew about, and her husband has fallen in love with another woman.

Natalie, daughter of Jack’s longtime mistress, has always known about her half sisters. And she can’t help feeling that when Tess and Charlotte find out, they’ll resent her for being the daughter their father kept.

As the sisters reluctantly gather at the Maison de Madeleine to deal with their father's final wishes, they become enchanted by the legacy they've inherited, and by their grandmother’s rich stories of life in WWII France and the wounded American soldier who would ultimately influence all their lives.

Thursday, September 9, 2021

The Inheritance by JoAnn Ross: An Excerpt and Guest Post

I am delighted to have JoAnn Ross as a guest today. I have followed her on Twitter for a while now and as she shared more about this book, my curiosity was piqued. I worked up the nerve to invite her to the blog and was delighted when she agreed. She is sharing an excerpt from the book and a short guest post about her inspiration, Such an emotional snippet of her life! So grab a drink, push the cats out of your way, and enjoy! Come back on Monday for my review. 

Monday, September 6, 2021

It's The Blog's Birthday! And There's A Giveaway!


Found on Pinterest; click photo to go to site.

11 years old! We're almost a teenager, eeeep. When I started the blog, I never thought the blog would last this long. I'm an erratic poster the last few years but I'm still around. Co-bloggers have come and gone, one cat has died and two more have moved in, fish have come and gone, but the blog and I are still here.

Monday, August 30, 2021

Short and Sweet Review: The Dating Playbook by Farrah Rochon


Series:
The Boyfriend Project #2
Read As A Stand Alone: Yes 
Publisher: Forever
Source: the publisher in exchange for an honest review
Release Date: August 17th, 2021
Buying Links: Amazon* | Apple Books* | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Google Books | Kobo
* affiliate links; the blog receives a small commission from purchases made through these links.

Blurb from goodreads:

When a personal trainer agrees to fake date her client, all rules are out the window in this delightful romantic comedy from the USA Today bestselling author of The Boyfriend Project!

When it comes to personal training, Taylor Powell kicks serious butt. Unfortunately, her bills are piling up, rent is due, and the money situation is dire. Taylor needs more than the support of her new best friends, Samiah and London. She needs a miracle.

And Jamar Dixon might just be it. The oh-so-fine former footballer wants back into the NFL, and he wants Taylor to train him. There's just one catch -- no one can know what they're doing. But when they're accidentally outed as a couple, Taylor's game plan is turned completely upside down. Is Jamar just playing to win . . . or is he playing for keeps?

Wednesday, August 25, 2021

EXCERPT: SAVING DANGER by Katie Reus



Welcome to my stop for Saving Danger by Katie Reus. It's a stand alone in her Red Stone Security series. Make yourself comfy and enjoy the excerpt!

Katie Reus is the New York Times, USA Today, and IndieReader bestselling author of the Red Stone Security series, the Moon Shifter series and the Deadly Ops series. She fell in love with romance at a young age thanks to books she pilfered from her mom’s stash. Years later she loves reading romance almost as much as she loves writing it.

However, she didn’t always know she wanted to be a writer. After changing majors many times, she finally graduated summa cum laude with a degree in psychology. Not long after that she discovered a new love. Writing. She now spends her days writing dark paranormal romance and sexy romantic suspense. Her book Avenger’s Heat recently won the Georgia RWA Maggie Award for Excellence in the fantasy/paranormal category. 

Thursday, August 12, 2021

Bea Reviews Dangerous Ground by Rachel Grant


Series:
Fiona Carver #1
Read As A Stand Alone: Yes
Publisher: Montlake
Source: the publisher in exchange for an honest review
Release Date: August 17th, 2021
Buying Links: Amazon* | Author site | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Google Books |
* affiliate links; the blog receives a small commission from purchases made through these links.

Blurb from goodreads:

In the remote and unpredictable Aleutians, danger comes without warning in an adrenaline rush of a novel by USA Today bestselling author Rachel Grant.

Archaeologist Fiona Carver has unfinished business in the Aleutian Islands. After an emergency evacuation cut her first expedition short, she’s finally back. But time is not on her side as she races to finish documenting the remnants of a prehistoric village, recover missing artifacts, and track down missing volcanologist Dylan Slater.

Having bluffed his way onto Fiona’s team with fake credentials, wildlife photographer Dean Slater is willing to risk more than federal prison to find his missing brother, but he needs Fiona’s help. She knows the inhospitable terrain better than anyone.

When the two set out together on a perilous journey, it becomes more than a recovery mission. In their fight for survival, nature isn’t the only threat. They aren’t the only ones on the hunt. Mile by dangerous mile, someone is hunting them.

Tuesday, July 27, 2021

SALE! Get a Great Deal on a Box Set by Pamela Clare!

 

Are you a contemporary romance fan? Maybe a fan of Pamela Clare? Or maybe you have been wanting tp try her. Well, now you can dive in with a 4 book box set of her Colorado High Country series. You get 4 amazing books for 99 cents! Yes, 4 full length novels for a buck. This sale is at Amazon (and not just the US! Though international prices may be slightly different), Barnes and Noble, Kobo, and iTunes. So warm up your fingers and one click!



 

The books you get (links go to Goodreads):

 #1 Barely Breathing

#2 Slow Burn

#3 Falling Hard

#4 Tempting Fate

 I don't do many sale posts but Ms. Clare writes awesome books and I always enjoy her Twitter and Facebook feeds and her Facebook reader group. And, the profits from this sale will help with the cost of an upcoming surgery for Ms. Clare. So, treat yourself to some books and help Pamela Clare with her medical expenses. Already own the books? They make a nice gift for a fellow reader. :)

Thursday, June 24, 2021

Review: Becoming Crone by Lydia M. Hawke


Series:
 The Crone Wars #1
Read As A Stand Alone: Yes
Publisher: Michem Publishing
Source: ARC - the author in exchange for an honest review; final copy - purchased
Release Date: June 16th, 2021
Buying Links: Amazon* | Barnes & Noble | iBooks* | Kobo
 * affiliate links; the blog receives a small commission from purchases made through these links.

Blurb from author:

Claire Emerson is adrift. After a lifetime as a wife, mother, and grandma, she never saw divorce or loneliness coming and is desperate for some sense of purpose. But when her sixtieth birthday brings a snarky gargoyle, an annoyingly sexy wolf shifter, and an unknown magical calling, she thinks she’s losing the only thing she has left: her sanity.

Refusing to believe she’s the powerful defender of humankind her so-called protectors claim, Claire attempts a return to her safe life… only to have her powers ignite when she’s attacked by dark supernatural creatures. And without the training she was supposed to have received, she has no idea how she’ll defeat sinister mages plotting her demise.

Can Claire overcome creaky joints and major hot flashes in time to save the world – and her own life?