BEA'S BOOK NOOK "I can't imagine a man really enjoying a book and reading it only once." C. S. Lewis “If one cannot enjoy reading a book over and over again, there is no use in reading it at all.” ― Oscar Wilde

Wednesday, October 29, 2014

Blog Tour Review & Giveaway of Dead New World by Ryan Hill


Publisher: Curiosity Quills Press
Format Read: E-Book
Source: From the publisher for an honest review
Release Date: October 13,2014
Buying Links: Amazon* | Barnes & Noble |
* affiliate links; the blog receives a small commission from purchases made through these links.

Blurb from tour company:

When the the leader of a powerful cult kidnaps the woman Holt loves, he teams up with his best friend to save her from a fate worse than death.

Fans of Jonathan Maberry's ROT & RUIN and AMC's hit series, The Walking Dead will devour Hill's action ­packed take on the Zombie genre. DEAD NEW WORLD is now available at Amazon and Curiosity Quills. Get to know more about Ryan in this exclusive letter to readers.

DEAD NEW WORLD

Zombies aren’t mindless anymore.

Before the world fell into chaos, the undead existed only in the imagination. Now, more of them walk the earth than living. Zombies move about freely, while humans entomb themselves inside concrete barricades to stay alive.

All that, while the leader of a powerful cult - known only as Reverend - becomes the next threat to the rebuilding United States. Believing zombies to be God’s latest creation, making humanity obsolete, he wants to give every man, woman, and child the chance to become one. With his combined army of humans and zombies, he may well get his wish.

Best friends Holt and Ambrose went up against the Reverend once. Holt lost a foot and a zombie bit Ambrose…though he survived the virus, only to become a human-zombie hybrid, reviled by the living and unwelcome among the dead. When the Reverend kidnaps the woman Holt loves, the race is on to save her from a fate worse than death.



Steph's Thoughts:

I am a total sucker for zombie books. Maybe because I live near where they film The Walking Dead and zombies scare the hell out of me. I really liked "Dead New World". It has zombies, LOTS of zombies, tense moments and a love story. A man is fighting zombie hordes to save the woman he loves from a crazy man.

Holt and Ambrose are friends. Ambrose saves Holt after his leg gets blown off and he gets bitten for his efforts. When Ambrose does not go full zombie but stops somewhere between the two, Holt jumps in and saves Ambrose from “being put down”. The friendship between these two is remarkable. Numerous times they save each other from harm and are probably closer than most biological brothers. When Holt’s lady friend (he broke up with her but still loves her) gets captured by a man called the Reverend, Holt and Ambrose set out to save her.

The story itself brings up many unsettling questions when it comes to the half zombies and their future among the living and the dead. There were some places in this book that were hard to read. A child being infected and a baby being born into that crazy world were difficult to read about but I really enjoyed this book. "Dead New World" is well written with lots of action and not a lot of down time. If you like zombie books, this is one I highly recommend.

***********************

About the Author ~

Growing up, Ryan Hill used to spend his time reading and writing instead of doing homework. This resulted in an obsession with becoming a writer, but also a gross incompetence in the fields of science and mathematics. A graduate of North Carolina State University, Ryan has been a film critic for over five years. He lives in Raleigh, NC, with his dog/shadow Maggie. Ryan also feels strange about referring to himself in the third person.

Find Ryan Online:

 Website | Facebook | Twitter | Google+ | GoodReads | Tumblr | Instagram


Spread the love and enter to win the tour-wide giveaway!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

8 comments:

  1. I don't think I'll be reading about zombies soon, I'll wait some : I went into a Walking dead marathon lately, and when I get up in the morning, or when I go to bed through dark corridors, I keep seeing zombies around every corner !

    ReplyDelete
  2. You need to get one of those life size cut outs of Daryl

    ReplyDelete
  3. The story sounds very intriguing.

    ReplyDelete
  4. "Fans of Jonathan Maberry's ROT & RUIN and AMC's hit series, The Walking Dead"

    That's me!! I like when there are unsettling questions like that brought up in zombie books.

    ReplyDelete
  5. I love zombie stories, and this one sounds like it will be awesome! Cannot wait to read!

    ReplyDelete
  6. Glad to see you enjoyed the zombie read! I know of a book called Dying for a Living by Kory M. Shrum, and if you liked this, then I am sure you will love that!

    http://olivia-savannah.blogspot.nl/2014/11/byronic-review-giveaway.html

    ReplyDelete

Thanks for taking the time to comment. I enjoy hearing from my readers. Let;s talk!